À propos de nous

Our Story | Opposite Wall President holds two modern art photography framed posters in their Montreal office


Notre histoire
-

Architecture à aire ouverte. Matériaux naturels. Formes minimalistes. Il ne fait aucun doute, le monde de la décoration intérieure est fasciné par l’esthétique scandinave. Pour Anne-Mathilde, cofondatrice et présidente d’Opposite Wall, cette histoire d’amour n’en est d’ailleurs pas à ses balbutiements : étudiante, elle déménage à Stockholm, puis ensuite à Copenhague pour compléter sa maîtrise en gestion et démarrer sa carrière en communication et en marketing. Revenue au Québec depuis dix ans, sa vision demeure teintée de l’esthétisme fort et innovateur du design scandinave.

Sur son parcours, elle rencontre Erik, un professionnel issu du monde de la mode ayant emménagé à Montréal pour une occasion d’affaires. Alors à la recherche d’une résidence, il tombe sous le charme d’un appartement montréalais classique et décide de le rénover. Avec son flair scandinave et son attention pour les détails, il réussit un projet de rénovation ambitieux. Pour apporter la touche finale à son décor, il constate cependant que trouver des affiches d’art mural intéressantes à prix abordable tient du défi tant l’offre est limitée en Amérique du Nord.

Inspiré par l’offre abondante d’images abordables et esthétiques sur le marché scandinave, le duo lance Opposite Wall, une boutique de commerce électronique destinée à la vente directe d’affiches exclusives conçues et produites à Montréal. Ils ajoutent à leur offre des cadres en chêne de qualité à des prix accessibles. Au cœur de cette mission : le souci de respecter l’environnement.

Ce que vous voyez dans le site aujourd’hui ne représente qu’un début. Restez à l’affût de nos lancements de collections exclusives.

Our Inspiration | Opposite Wall team member seeks new inspiration and upcoming Scandinavian trends for future poster collectionsOur Inspiration | Opposite Wall team member researches new inspiration in photography art and graphic design for future poster collections

Notre inspiration
-

La conception de nos affiches, de nos cadres et de nos passe-partout est toujours guidée par notre parti-pris pour le minimalisme et notre passion pour les tendances internationales dans le domaine du design, de la mode et du mobilier. Pour réaliser notre vision inspirée du style scandinave nous concevons nous-même la plupart des affiches et collaborons aussi avec des designers et des photographes de l’extérieur.

Comme tout amateur du style nordique, nous sommes séduits par l'élégance raffinée du noir et blanc, la beauté organique de la photographie botanique et l'intensité dramatique d’un paysage. La bonne nouvelle? Notre signature esthétique se déployant dans tous nos produits, nos affiches peuvent être regroupées en duo, en trio ou en galerie murale pour créer un impact visuel encore plus marqué et personnalisé.



Our Prints | Opposite Wall team member rolls design posters with care before packaging it in a tube and shipping it worldwide

Nos affiches
-

Nous sommes d'avis qu'apporter la touche finale à votre décor ne devrait pas nécessairement coûter un prix élevé et que les férus de design devraient avoir accès à des images artistiques de haute qualité sans avoir à investir de fortes sommes ou se contenter d’images produites en quantité industrielle. C'est là où les designs abordables et intemporels d'Opposite Wall entrent en jeu.

Nos affiches sont imprimées ici à Montréal, sur un épais papier sans acide de qualité archivistique, au fini doux et mat. Il en résulte un produit haut de gamme qui s'agence parfaitement à tout décor moderne - surtout lorsque les affiches sont mises en valeur par les cadres d’Opposite Wall.

Vous désirez utiliser un cadre IKEA? Aucun problème! Nos affiches sont conçues de manière à ne pas requérir un encadrement sur mesure onéreux.

Un look moderne à peu de frais, voilà la devise d'Opposite Wall.



Our Frames | Opposite Wall team member lays out a wall gallery of framed posters on the floor

Nos cadres
-

Nous l'avouons d’emblée, nous sommes des fans des cadres Ribba et Marietorp d'IKEA, de grands classiques qui figurent parmi les cadres les plus élégants et abordables offerts sur le marché. Ceci étant dit, ils ne sont pas parfaits. Leur design pourrait être plus épuré et leur construction plus solide.


Découvrez la collection de cadres Opposite Wall.

Nous avons remplacé le bois pressé des cadres IKEA par du bois de chêne massif d’une durabilité exceptionnelle. Nos cadres très effilés sont conçus précisément pour mettre en valeur nos affiches. Notre quincaillerie toute simple fait de leur assemblage et de leur accrochage un jeu d'enfant. Pour une finition impeccable, utilisez un de nos passe-partout blanc sans acide disponible en quatre formats.



Our Montréal Roots | Opposite Wall team members work together on creating new artwork poster collections

Nos racines montréalaises
-

Bien connue pour sa poutine et ses bagels, Montréal est bien davantage un épicentre du design et de la créativité. Avec ses six universités qui forment de nouveaux créateurs en art, en architecture, en photographie et en design et avec son esprit unique hérité de ses racines culturelles nord-américaine et européenne, quel meilleur endroit pour établir notre entreprise?

Nos affiches sont imprimées dans le très créatif Mile-End, un quartier qui est d'ailleurs le lieu de résidence des co-fondateurs d'Opposite Wall, Anne-Mathilde and Erik.



Our Planet | Landscape photo of North American Nordic forest and river landscape. Photo by Steve Carter | Unsplash

Notre planète

-

Préserver la santé de notre planète et de nos forêts est primordial pour notre entreprise. Nous imprimons les affiches sur du papier FSC recyclé produit au Québec avec la technologie du biogaz. Nos cadres et nos passe-partout sont également certifiés FSC, une certification attestant que le papier provient d'une source responsable et durable et que son processus de production respecte l'environnement.  


De plus, nos emballages et fournitures sont créés au Québec et sont issus de matériaux recyclés produits au Canada et aux États-Unis.


Nous sommes fiers de faire partie du réseau international 1% for the Planet. En tant que membre de ce réseau, nous nous engageons à remettre 1% du montant de nos ventes à des organismes qui se consacrent à la protection de l’environnement et à un futur meilleur. Lisez notre philosophie en matière de  durabilité et notre engagement à redonner à notre planète.

Merci d’avoir choisi Opposite Wall!

Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Pinterest Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

About Us

Our Story | Opposite Wall President holds two modern art photography framed posters in their Montreal office


Our Story
-

Open floor plans. Natural materials. Minimalist shapes. The world of home decor is obsessed with the pared-back aesthetic of Scandinavian style. For Opposite Wall Co-Founder and President Anne-Mathilde, the love affair runs even deeper. As a student, the marketing and advertising executive moved from her native Montreal to Stockholm, then Copenhagen to pursue her master’s degree and jumpstart her career. Eventually, she moved back to Quebec but as an honourary Scandinavian, saw things a little bit differently.

Along the way, she connected with Co-Founder Erik, a Stockholm-born fashion executive who moved to Canada for a work opportunity. While house hunting, he fell in love with Montreal’s iconic three-story apartment buildings, renovating his new home with Scandinavian flair. His quasi-obsessive attention to detail led to two things: Ambitious renovation projects and the realization that finishing touches, like all-important wall art, are difficult to source and too expensive in North America.

Inspired by the trendy and affordable options flooding the Scandinavian market, the pair launched Opposite Wall, a direct-to-consumer brand dedicated to designing and manufacturing exclusive art poster collections at affordable prices and with an environmental conscience.

What you see on the site today is just the beginning. Stay tuned for exciting launches, including high-quality wall decor, artists’ collections and more.


Our Prints | Opposite Wall team member rolls design posters with care before packaging it in a tube and shipping it worldwide

Our Prints
-

We believe that finishing touches shouldn’t cost a fortune and that design enthusiasts should have access to high-quality artwork beside investment pieces and mass-produced images. That’s where Opposite Wall’s affordable and timeless design posters come in.

Despite their low price point, our design posters are printed in Montreal’s Mile End neighbourhood on acid-free, thick archival paper with a matte, smooth finish. The end result is a high-end look that perfectly complements a modern interior—especially when framed in an Opposite Wall frame.

Have an IKEA frame you’d like to use instead? No problem! Our prints come in standard sizes that don’t require expensive custom framing.

A modern look that won’t break the bank—that’s what Opposite Wall is all about.

Our Inspiration | Opposite Wall team member seeks new inspiration and upcoming Scandinavian trends for future poster collections Our Inspiration | Opposite Wall team member researches new inspiration in photography art and graphic design for future poster collections

Our Inspiration
-

The design of every Opposite Wall print, mat and frame is driven by modern minimalism and international trends in furniture, fashion and art. We design most prints ourselves and tap up-and-coming graphic design and photography talent to bring our vision of Scandinavian style to life.

In true Nordic style, we have a soft spot for the graphic appeal of black and white, the organic beauty of botanical photography and the striking impact of a dramatic landscape. The best part? Our signature aesthetic means that all our prints can be grouped into statement-making vignettes or gallery walls.

Our Frames | Opposite Wall team member lays out a wall gallery of framed posters on the floor

Our Frames
-

Full disclosure: We’re big fans of IKEA’s iconic Ribba and Marietorp frames, which are some of the most stylish and affordable options on the market. That being said, they’re not perfect. They could be a bit sleeker, and they could be much sturdier. 


Enter Opposite Wall’s frame collection.

First, we replaced IKEA’s pressed wood with 100% solid oak for outstanding durability. The sleek black frame is designed to complement our modern art while simple hardware makes them a cinch to assemble and hang. Complete the look with an acid-free white mat available in four sizes.

Our Montréal Roots | Café in Montreal’s Mile-End neighbourhood, which is to Opposite Wall’s Canadian headquarters. Photo by Bonnie Meisels | Unsplash Our Montréal Roots | Opposite Wall team members work together on creating new artwork poster collections

Our Montreal Roots
-

It may be best known for poutine and bagels but Montreal is also an international hub of design and creativity. With six universities shaping the next generation of talent in photography and design—not to mention that Europe-meets-North-America flair that is so uniquely Montreal—it proved the perfect place to bring the Opposite Wall concept to market.

Our prints are printed in the hip Mile End district, a neighbourhood that Opposite Wall Co-Founders Anne-Mathilde and Erik also happen to call home.


Our Planet | Landscape photo of North American Nordic forest and river landscape. Photo by Steve Carter | Unsplash

Our Planet
-

Keeping our planet healthy and our forests growing is important to us. We print on recycled FSC paper sourced from a Quebec-based mill that uses advanced green bio-gas technology. Frames and mats are certified as well. FSC certification proves that the paper comes from a sustainable and responsible source and that the process is environmentally friendly. 


Furthermore, our packaging and supplies are made from recycled materials produced in Canada and the U.S.


As proud members of 1% for the Planet, we help keep our planet healthy by donating 1% of your purchase towards a brighter and more sustainable future. Read more about our sustainability philosophy and our commitment to giving back to our planet.

Thank you for choosing Opposite Wall!